My journey in Tech: What I have learned so far, and what you should probably do.

My journey in Tech: What I have learned so far, and what you should probably do.

Insights and Advice from a Tech Enthusiast's Personal Experience

I began my journey into the world of technology in 2018 as an undergraduate student pursuing Mathematics and Computer Science. Then, I could not help but wonder how the journey would be and how many mathematics problems I would encounter in this major task ahead.

Well, turns out all those warnings about how difficult Mathematics can be, were greatly exaggerated. I mean, it's not like I spent countless sleepless nights buried in textbooks and struggling to understand complex formulas... oh wait, never mind." Fast forward to today, I am grateful for deciding to pursue that 'hard' course. I won't lie, it was hard and I am grateful for that too.

In 2019, I came across the emerging career path known as Data Science in a video by Programming with Mosh and I immediately fell in love with it. I learned that Data Science is a field that combines principles from the fields of Mathematics, Computer science, and the specific domain it would be applied. It turned out my mathematics knowledge would not be useless, anyway.

I started my journey in learning Data Science in 2021 in the third year of my undergraduate degree, and I am still learning anyway. The journey has been not-so-smooth and has been fueled with disruptions mainly due to schoolwork. I am still pushing my boundaries and expanding my knowledge and there are various lessons I have learned along the way.

  1. Practice as you learn

I began my journey by taking up a certification course on Coursera provided by Google. I had to do a capstone project after the end of the 8-course certification. I won't lie, it was challenging at first. This made me realize that practice makes you better, and removes the fear of thinking you are not good enough.

It is not always enough to just watch the lectures and take the quizzes. I have since learned to practice what I have learned, which meant writing code, doing exercises, and working on projects. The more I practised, the more I understood the concepts and the more confidence I have become in my skills.

  1. Document your learning process

Documenting your learning process is an essential part of any learning journey, especially in Data Science. It can help you reinforce your knowledge, identify areas where you need to improve, and track your progress. In my experience, keeping a notebook or a journal and writing articles has been a helpful way to document my learning process.

  1. Reach out to experts in the field

Experts in the field certainly have more knowledge than you do. They probably have faced the same challenges as you may be doing when they were starting out. Reaching out to them can give you insights on how to solve challenges and navigate this tough journey of being a beginner.

There is an abundance of resources available online, including blogs, forums, and online communities, where you can connect with experts and learn from their experiences. One way to reach out to experts in the field is by joining online communities such as Reddit, LinkedIn groups, or data science forums.

These platforms offer a wealth of knowledge and provide an opportunity to connect with experts and enthusiasts in the field. You can post questions, share your projects, and get feedback from others. This can help you to identify areas where you need to improve and get different perspectives on the topics you are learning.

  1. Participate in Tech communities activities

Participating in tech community activities can be an excellent way to accelerate your learning journey in Data Science. Tech communities offer a platform for individuals to connect, learn, and collaborate with like-minded individuals who share similar interests and passions.

I began attending Tech events in July 2022 which has been very impactful in my Data Science Journey. I have since learned a lot from experts and connected with other Data Science enthusiasts in these meetups and workshops. These activities have provided me with a platform to share my projects and ideas, receive feedback, and learn from others.

  1. Mentor someone starting, if possible

The community builds us, it is said. It is therefore important to give back to the same community by mentoring others who are starting. I have friends who reached out to me when they were getting started. I happily pour out all the knowledge and insights I may have with the main goal of helping them.

By sharing my knowledge and experience, I can help others avoid some of the challenges I faced and accelerate their learning process. Mentoring also allows me to reinforce my knowledge and gain new perspectives on the field. Besides, helping someone is a rewarding experience for both the mentor and mentee.

Conclusion

A great author wrote, "Compare yourself to who you were yesterday, not to who someone else is today". It is a powerful reminder to focus on our progress and growth rather than comparing ourselves to others.

Learning Data Science is a journey that requires time, effort, and dedication. It can be easy to become discouraged when we compare ourselves to others who seem to have achieved more or to be more advanced in their skills. Instead, learn from others and believe that it is possible, and you'll become a data scientist, or whatever it is you are seeking to achieve.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Pius Mutuma by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!